Studying abroad

Are you interested in studying abroad? You can find out more about the different opportunities here.

On this website you will find all the information on the ERASMUS programmes offered in our field of study. Please read the information carefully. If you have further questions, please turn to the departmental coordinators of our field of study.

Please make sure you also read the International Office's checklist and information sheet carefully as they provide important general information.

Departmental coordinator

Name: Regina Studener-Kuras

E-mail address: regina.studener@univie.ac.at%23Johannes.Gstach@univie.ac.at

Telephone: 0043-(0)1-4277-46788

Address: Sensengasse 3a, 1090 Vienna

Room No.: 04.07
Consultation Hours:

  • Wednesday: 12:30-13:00
  • Thursday: 10:30-12:30

 

Contents of this website

1   Places

2   Requirements

3   Application Deadlines

4   Application Procedure

5   Course Choice and Learning Agreement

6   Course recognition

 

1. Places

Erasmus stays can only be done at those universities our field of study has an agreement with. You can search for available places in our field of study in this list.

 

2. Requirements

The ERASMUS programme aimes at regular students of the University of Vienna who have completed at least two semesters in the relevant field of study by the start of their ERASMUS stay. To document that you are an active student in the field of ›Education‹ you need to have completed at least the STEOP. In addition for non-german speaking partner-instituts you need a language certificate.

Language certificate

For all non-German-speaking partner universities a language certificate which is not older than four years is required for the application. The required language proficiency is prescribed by the host university (at least B1). The specific requirements can be found here for each place. Although our partner-institutes did not require any additonal certificates until now, please contact your favored university in order to find out the specific language requirements and whether they want an additional language certificate (like TOEFL, IELTS etc). Please note that all our non-german speaking partner-universities require english language skills – only in Florence you need italian.

Please also make sure that the host university offers a sufficient amount of suitable courses in English.

The proof of an adequate language level has to be provided by the time of application. Further information on this topic can be found here.

 

3. Application deadlines

Places for the winter semester, for the summer semester and for the whole academic year are assigned during the main application phase. Any remaining available places for the summer semester are assigned during a second phase in autumn. 

At our department application deadlines are as follows:

Main phase: Applications will be accepted until March 12th in the current year by Regina Studener-Kuras. The available places will be announced here (in German) mid/end of January.

Application for remaining places: Applications will be accepted until October 12th in the current year by Regina Studener-Kuras. The available places will be announced here (in German) mid-September.

 

4. Application Procedure

There are several steps to be completed during the application. The International Office provides detailed information on their website and during information sessions.

 

Application to the departmental coordinator

You need to submit your application to the departmental coordinator, Regina Studener-Kuras. The following documents are required:

•   Transcript of records

•   CV

•   Letter of motivation (study-specific reasons for your choice of location and for your priorization)

•   Language certificate (copy)

The application has to be submitted in a printed version at a personal meeting during the office hour of the Departmental Coordinator.

Interview procedure:

Normally the interview lasts about 20-30 minutes. According to your choice of university and to the competitive situation we will discuss the changes of your preferences and about possible alternatives. Additionally information will be provided about the application process. Because of this only applications can be taken into consideration which are submitted personally during the a office hour of Regina Studener-Kuras – but no applications via email.

 

Selection criteria:

1.    Formal qualifications are fulfilled

2.    Academic achievements and progress (at least STEOP)

3.    Quality of your study-specific reasons within your letter of motivation (e.g. research about the study programme of the chosen partner universities or about the research activites of the local staff)

 Nomination

If your application has been accepted by the departmental coordinator, Regina Studener-Kuras, at the end oft he application phase (March 12th or October 12th in the current year), she will nominate you for an ERASMUS stay. The students who have been nominated will be contacted by the International Office via email informing them about the documents and forms that they will have to submit.

5. Course Choice and Learning Agreement

Learning Agreement

The Learning Agreement informs your host university about the courses and the amount of ECTS credits you are going to take during your stay. Detailed information on the Learning Agreement can be found here.

Please gather information on the course offer at your host university, compare their study plan to ours and talk with the Departmental Coodinator about the courses you will be taking. To discuss the formalities oft he Learning Agreement Regina Studener-Kuras will invite to a meeting after the end of the application phase (ather March 12th or October 12th oft he current year). After that the individual Learning Agreements will be reviewed by Regina Studener-Kuras during his office hours and transferred to the study programme director ("Studienprogrammleitung") for signature.

You'll have to find out when the Learning Agreement has to be submitted to your host university. It lies within your responsibility that the host university receives the Learning Agreement in time (most universities require the document as part of the application procedure). Should the host university not require the learning agreement for your application/registration, please take it with you and discuss the courses with the local International Office upon your arrival.

ETCS and courses

In general, students should obtain 30 ECTS credits during an ERASMUS semester. In order to be eligible for the ERASMUS grant, a minimum of 3 ECTS per month recognised at the University of Vienna is required. Should these minimum requirements not be met, students have to repay the grant. 

Should you do research for your Master Thesis or PhD Thesis during your ERASMUS stay, this is stated in the Learning Agreement by the title of the thesis and the signature of your supervisor. You shouldn't have to take any classes in this case, however, many host universities will want you to take one or two classes anyway.

Please find out which courses incoming students are allowed to take at your host university. In order to make the course choice easier, it is recommended saving optional courses (Alternative Erweiterungen/Wahlfächer) for the ERASMUS stay.

 

Changes to the Learning Agreement

In most cases, the course catalogue for your ERASMUS semester will not be published before a few weeks before the semester start. Since you have to submit your ERASMUS application a lot earlier than that, it is understandable if you need to make some changes to your course programme later on. Please contact Regina Studener-Kuras about any changes to your Learning Agreement as soon as possible via email. If necessary we will arrange a skype-meeting. This is the only way to make sure that your choices will be recognised after your return.

How you make changes to your Learning Agreement is explained here. Please also find out how the matter is addressed at your host university. Once the Learning Agreement is signed by all parties, please send a copy to the International Office via email.

Please notice that the conformation of all changes is in your own interest because this is the only way to ensure that courses can be accepted after your return. So it is your responsibility to contact Regina Studener-Kuras – he will not contact you and ask you whether changes are necessary to be confirmed.

 

6. Course recognition

After your ERASMUS stay you'll have to complete the form "Antrag auf Anerkennung", so that the credits can be transferred to your study programme in Vienna. You will also need a transcript of records from the host university to do this. Please hand in a copy of the signed form, the signed Learning Agreement (plus signed Changes) and the transcript of records to the Departmental Coordinator during the office hours.

Further advice on course recognition:

•   Please ALWAYS discuss the courses that you are doing abroad with the Departmental Coodinator (including changes to the course programme).

•   Credit transfer/course recognition is usually easier for optional courses ("Alternative Erweiterungen" - BA), than for compulsory courses. It is therefore advisable to save at least some of these courses for your ERASMUS stay.

If you have been nominated for an ERASMUS stay via a complementary study program ("Erweiterungscurriculum"), you need to contact the respective study programme director regarding credit transfer.

Studieren im Ausland

Interessieren Sie sich für ein Auslandsstudium? Informieren Sie sich am besten hier über die verschiedenen Austauschmöglichkeiten.

Auf dieser Seite finden Sie alle Informationen zu den ERASMUS-Programmen im BA und MA Bildungswissenschaft. Lesen Sie die Informationen aufmerksam. Sollten Sie noch weitere Fragen haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an den Fachkoordinator Ihrer Studienrichtung.

Bitte lesen sie auch die Informationsblätter und Checklisten des International Office sorgfältig durch. Diese Dokumente enthalten wichtige allgemeine (nicht studienrichtungsspezifische) Informationen.


Fachkoordinatorin

Regina Studener-Kuras

E-Mail Adresse: regina.studener@univie.ac.at

Telefonnummer: 0043-(0)1-4277-46788

Adresse: Sensengasse 3a, 1090 Wien

Zimmernummer: 04.07

Sprechstunde innerhalb der Semesterdaten

  • Mittwoch: 12:30-13:00 Uhr
  • Donnerstag: 10:30-12:30 Uhr

 

Inhalt dieser Seite:

1   Studienplätze

2   Voraussetzungen

3   Bewerbungsfristen

4   Bewerbungsprozedere

5   Kurswahl und Learning Agreement

6   Anrechnungen

 

1. Studienplätze

Voraussetzung für einen Erasmus-Studienaufenthalt sind Abkommen unserer Studienrichtung mit Universitäten im Ausland. In dieser Liste können Sie nach den verfügbaren Plätzen in unserer Studienrichtung suchen. 

2. Voraussetzungen

Das ERASMUS-Programm richtet sich an ordentliche Studierende der Universität Wien, die sich zum Zeitpunkt des Antritts frühestens im 3. Semester der relevanten Studienrichtung befinden. Zudem muss aus dem vorgelegten Sammelzeugnis ersichtlich sein, dass Sie aktiv das Fach Bildungswissenschaft studieren, was bedeutet, dass Sie bei Ihrer Bewerbung nachweisen können, dass Sie zumindest die STEOP absolviert haben. Darüber hinaus ist es bei Partnerinstituten aus dem nicht-deutschsprachigen notwendig, einen Sprachnachweis vorzulegen.

Sprachnachweis

Für alle nicht-deutschsprachigen Partneruniversitäten ist für die Bewerbung um einen Erasmus-Platz an der Universität Wien ein Sprachnachweis erforderlich. Das Prüfungsdatum darf zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung maximal vier Jahre zurückliegen. Die erforderlichen Sprachniveaus werden von der jeweiligen Gastuniversität vorgegeben (mindestens B1). Das konkrete geforderte Niveau ist hier für jeden Platz ersichtlich. Obwohl bislang seitens der Partnerinstitute nicht die Forderung bestand, zusätzliche Sprachnachweise zu erbringen, bitten wir Sie, sich auch direkt bei Ihrer gewünschten Gastuniversität zu informieren, welche sprachlichen Voraussetzungen gefordert sind und ob die Universität selbst einen zusätzlichen Sprachnachweis verlangt (zB TOEFL, IELTS etc). Bitte beachten Sie, dass an allen unseren nicht-deutschsprachigen Partnerinstituten Englischkenntnisse erwartet werden – lediglich in Florenz wird ein Sprachnachweis über die italienischen Sprachkenntnisse gefordert.

Bitte überprüfen Sie schon in der Bewerbungsphase, ob die Gastuniversität auch genügend (passende!) englischsprachige Lehrveranstaltungen anbietet.

Das vorgeschriebene Sprachniveau ist bereits zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung nachzuweisen. Weitere Informationen zum Sprachnachweis finden Sie hier.

3. Bewerbungsfristen

In der Hauptvergabephase werden Plätze für das Wintersemester, das Sommersemester oder für das ganze Studienjahr vergeben. Restplätze für das Sommersemester werden im Zuge der Restplatzvergabe vergeben. 

In unserer Studienrichtung gelten folgende Fristen:

Hauptvergabe: Die Bewerbungsunterlagen sind jeweils bis zum 12. März des laufenden Jahres (fällt dies auf ein Wochenende, dann gilt der darauffolgende nächste Wochentag) bei Johannes Gstach abzugeben. Die freien Plätze finden Sie ab Mitte/Ende Jänner hier.

Restplatzvergabe:

Die Bewerbungsunterlagen sind bis 12. Oktober des laufenden Jahres (fällt dies auf ein Wochenende, dann gilt der darauffolgende nächste Wochentag) abzugeben. Die freien Plätze finden Sie ab Mitte September hier.

 

4. Bewerbungsprozedere

Die Bewerbung erfolgt in mehreren Schritten. Detaillierte Informationen zum Ablauf der Bewerbung finden Sie auf der Website und den Infoveranstaltungen des International Office

Bewerbung beim Fachkoordinator

Sie müssen sich für Ihren gewünschten Platz bewerben. Für die Bewerbung benötigen Sie folgende Unterlagen:

   Sammelzeugnis

   Lebenslauf

   Motivationsschreiben (fachliche Begründung für die gewählten Plätze; fachliche Begründung der Prioritätensetzung)

   Ev. Sprachnachweise in Kopie

Die Bewerbungsunterlagen sind ausgedruckt zu einem persönlichen Gespräch während der Sprechstunden mitzubringen.

Bewerbungsgespräch:

Dieses dauert im Regelfall etwa 20-30 Minuten. In diesem Gespräch wird über die Bewerbungslage gesprochen und die Frage diskutiert, ob es Chancen auf die präferierten Plätze gibt bzw. welche Alternativen eventuell möglich wären. Zudem wird das weitere Prozedere des Bewerbungsvorganges erläutert. Aus diesem Grund können nur jene Bewerbungen berücksichtigt werden, die persönlich während der Sprechstunde vorgelegt werden – jedoch keine Bewerbungen per Email.

 

Auswahlkriterien

1.    formale Voraussetzungen sind erfüllt

2.    Studienleistung und -fortschritt (mindestens abgeschlossene STEOP)

3.    Qualität der fachspezifischen Begründung im Motivationsschreiben (z.B. über Recherche über das Studienprogramm der Institute)

 

Nominierung

Im nächsten Schritt werden Sie nach dem Bewerbungsende (12.3. bzw. 12.10. des jeweiligen Jahres) von Ihrer Fachkoordinatorin für den Auslandsaufenthalt nominiert. Die nominierten Studierenden werden durch das International Office per Email verständigt und erfahren dann, welche Unterlagen Sie einreichen müssen.

 

5. Kurswahl und Learning Agreement

Learning Agreement

Detaillierte Informationen zum Learning Agreement, in dem festgelegt wird, welche Lehrveranstaltungen in welchem Umfang von ECTS Sie während Ihres Auslandsaufenthalts absolvieren werden, finden Sie auf der Seite des International Office.

Informieren Sie sich über das Lehrangebot an Ihrer Gastuniversität und vergleichen Sie den dortigen Studienplan mit unserem und besprechen Sie das geplante Programm mit Johannes Gstach. Um die Formalitäten der Erstellung der Learning Agreements zu besprechen, wird nach dem jeweiligen Bewerbungsende (nach dem 12.3. bzw. 12.10. des jeweiligen Jahres) ein Sammeltermin für alle BewerberInnen angeboten. Danach werden die individuellen Learning Agreements während der Sprechstunde besprochen und schließlich an die SPL zur Unterzeichnung weitergeleitet.

Informieren Sie sich bei Ihrer Gastuniversität, wann das Learning Agreement vorgelegt werden muss. Sie sind selbst dafür verantwortlich, dass Ihre Gastuniversität das Learning Agreement rechtzeitig erhält (normalerweise im Zuge Ihrer Anmeldung an der Partneruniversität). Sollte die Gastuni das Learning Agreement nicht bei der Anmeldung verlangen, nehmen Sie es bitte mit und besprechen Sie die Kurse nach Ihrer Ankunft dort im International Office.

ECTS und Lehrveranstaltungen

Prinzipiell sollten pro ERASMUS-Semester Lehrveranstaltungen im Ausmaß von 30 ECTS absolviert werden. Um einen ERASMUS-Zuschuss zu erhalten, müssen Sie in jedem Fall mindestens 3 an der Universität Wien anerkannte ECTS pro Monat erbringen. Dies ist die absolute Mindestforderung, die nicht unterschritten werden darf. Sollte dies der Fall sein, muss das Stipendium zurückgezahlt werden. 

Sollte Ihr Auslandsaufenthalt der Abfassung Ihrer Diplom- bzw Masterarbeit oder Dissertation dienen, wird dies im Learning Agreement durch die Angabe des Titels und die Unterschrift des Betreuers/der Betreuerin bestätigt. In diesem Fall müssen Sie in der Regel keine Lehrveranstaltungen absolvieren -- beachten Sie aber, dass einige Gastuniversitäten dennoch die Absolvierung einzelner Lehrveranstaltungen verlangen können.

Informieren Sie sich bei Ihrer Gastuniversität, welche Lehrveranstaltungen Sie als Incoming-Studierende absolvieren dürfen. Um die Kurswahl zu erleichtern, empfiehlt es sich, alternative Erweiterungen/Wahlfächer für den ERASMUS-Aufenthalt aufzusparen.

Änderungen im Learning Agreement

Da das Vorlesungsverzeichnis an Ihrer Gastuniversität in den meisten Fällen erst kurz vor Semesterbeginn feststehen wird, ist es verständlich, wenn Sie Ihr Kursprogramm später noch einmal abändern müssen. Änderungen müssen Sie mit Johannes Gstach absprechen, um die Anrechnung nach Ihrer Rückkehr sicherzustellen. Geben Sie Änderungen bitte so früh wie möglich bekannt, indem Sie die gewünschten Änderungen zunächst per Email an Johannes Gstach senden. Falls notwendig, wird dann ein Skype-Termin vereinbart, wo Unklarheiten besprochen werden können.

Wie Sie Ihr Learning Agreement abändern, wird hier erläutert. Bitte informieren Sie sich auch an Ihrer Gastuniversität über das Änderungsprozedere. Sobald das Learning Agreement von allen Seiten unterschrieben wurde, senden Sie eine Kopie per Mail an das International Office.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Durchführung dieser Änderungen in Ihrem eigenen Interesse ist, da nur so gewährleistet ist, dass die geänderten Lehrveranstaltungen nach Ihrer Rückkunft auch anerkannt werden können.

6. Anrechnungen

Nach Ihrer Rückkehr füllen Sie bitte das Formular "Antrag auf Anerkennung" aus und lassen die im Ausland abgeschlossenen Kurse im Rahmen Ihres Studiums anerkennen. Dazu benötigen Sie auch das Sammelzeugnis der Gastuniversität (transcript of records). Eine Kopie dieses Antrags auf Anerkennung reichen Sie dann bitte gemeinsam mit dem von der SPL unterschriebenen Learning Agreement bzw. den Veränderungen und dem transcript of records ebenfalls persönlich während der Sprechstunde ein.

Weitere Hinweise zur Anerkennung:

   Sprechen Sie die im Ausland gewählten Kurse (auch Abänderungen) immer  ab.

   Die Anerkennung von "Alternativen Erweiterungen" (BA) ist meist einfacher als von Pflichtfächern - daher ist es vorteilhaft, sich diese ECTS für das Auslandsstudium "aufzuheben".

Wenn Sie über ein angemeldetes Erweiterungscurriculum für einen ERASMUS-Platz nominiert sind, ist die Studienprogrammleitung des EC-Fachs für die Anerkennung zuständig.